Indian Polls

India: Congress, CPI(M) share seats for Bengal bypolls

Kolkata, Aug 9 (PTI) In a bid to stop the march of BJP and TMC in Bengal, the beleaguered Congress and CPI(M) have come together for a seat adjustment for upcoming bypolls in three assembly segments of the state

During a late-evening meeting, the state leadership of the two parties decided that the Congress would contest Kaliaganj seat in North Dinajpur district and Kharagpur in West Midnapore district

The CPI(M)-led Left Front would contest Karimpur assembly seat in Nadia district.

India: Four MLAs resign in Maha, set to join BJP ahead of polls

Mumbai, Jul 30 (PTI) Four opposition Congress-NCP legislators in Maharashtra resigned from the State Assembly on Tuesday, amid talk of their joining the ruling BJP.

NCP MLAs Shivendrasinhraje Bhosale (Satara), Vaibhav Pichad (Akole) and Sandeep Naik (Airoli) and Congress MLA Kalidas Kolambkar (Naigaon) handed over their resignation letters separately to Speaker Haribhau Bagade at the state legislature building Vidhan Bhawan in south Mumbai.

India: R'stahn local bodies bypoll: Cong bags 8 seats, BJP five

Jaipur, Jun 12 (PTI) The Congress bagged eight seats while the BJP emerged victorious on five in the Rajasthan local bodies bypoll, results of which were declared Wednesday.

Three wards were won by independent candidates.

Polling to 16 wards of Alwar, Bharatpur, Bhilwara, Bundi, Churu, Dholpur, Hanumangarh, Jaipur, Karauli and Srigangnagar was held on June 10.

The Congress won in Khairthal, Behror, Jahajpur, Indergarh, Sujangarh, Nohar, Shahpura and bagged one of the seats in Hindaun.

India: Mishra to be BJD parliamentary party leader in Lok Sabha

Bhubaneswar, Jun 2 (PTI) Four-time MP from Puri Pinaki Misra was on Sunday nominated as the parliamentary party leader of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) in Lok Sabha.

BJD president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has nominated Misra as the party leader in the lower house of Parliament, BJD general secretary Bijay Nayak said.

Similarly, Kandhamal MP Achyutananda Samanta has been nominated as the BJD Chief whip and Kendrapara MP Anubhav Mohanty as party's deputy chief whip in Lok Sabha.

India: Pawar dismisses NCP-Congress merger rumours

Mumbai, Jun 1 (PTI) NCP president Sharad Pawar Saturday dismissed speculation that his party was likely to merge with the Congress.

Speaking at a party meeting here, Pawar also touched on the issue of alleged Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) tampering, saying he had doubts about the technology from early on.

The meeting was held Saturday to discuss the Lok Sabha results and review preparations for the Maharashtra Assembly polls.

India: Cong reviewing defeat of Rahul Gandhi in Amethi

Amethi, Jun 1 (PTI) The Congress is reviewing the defeat of its president Rahul Gandhi in the party stronghold of Amethi in the Lok Sabha elections, a party leader said Tuesday.

Zubair Khan, who looks after the political work of party general secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, and Kishori Lal Sharma, the representative of UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, have been camping here for the last three days to deliberate upon the possible reasons for Gandhi's defeat.

India: Samajwadi Party leader shot at in Greater Noida

Noida (UP), Jun 1 (PTI) A Samajwadi Party politician has been shot at by unidentified men in Greater Noida, within 12 hours of the killing of a local party unit chief in Gautam Buddh Nagar, police said Saturday.

The incident took place late on Friday night when Brajpal Rathi, the party's district secretary was returning to his house in Eta sector in an SUV accompanied by a friend and driver, the police said.

India: Sonia Gandhi elected leader of Congress Parliamentary Party

New Delhi, Jun 1 (PTI) Sonia Gandhi was once again elected leader of the Congress Parliamentary Party (CPP) at a meeting of party MPs at the Central Hall of Parliament on Saturday.

The meeting was attended by the party's 52 newly elected Lok Sabha MPs and Rajya Sabha members.

Gandhi, who represents Uttar Pradesh's Rae Bareli in Lok Sabha, is the chairperson of the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA).

BJP looses Karnataka Local Body elections

In less than a week after LS elections where BJP won 25 of 28 seats in the state, and only 2 days after forming government at the Centre, it has lost Karnataka Local Body elections. Though counting is still underway, Congress is in a comfortable lead by winning 509 seats against BJP’s 366.

The elections to 1,361 wards, spread across eight city municipal councils, 33 town municipal councils and 22 town panchayats, were held on May 29.

Subscribe to Indian Polls